WINE (Vegan or not?)

Some people aren't aware (vegans included) that most wines and beers aren't vegan/ vegetarian. Brewmasters, winemakers, and distillers may include animal ingredients in their products directly, or they might use them in the processing and filtration. Some of the ingredients used to do this are:

- edible gelatins (made from bones)
- isinglass (made from the swim bladders of fish)
- casein and potassium caseinate (milk proteins)
- animal albumin (egg albumin and dried blood powder)

The best resource to find out which wines, beers and liquors are 'vegan' friendly is at "Barnivore" . Many of the popular brands are on the list, and they are divided by green (vegan friendly), red (not vegan friendly), and yellow (some options available).
Tweet This

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...